top of page
  • Writer's pictureJW

Poem: You Stand Corrected



You Stand Corrected


How was that necessary?

I'm misleading yet your results may vary without warning?

All that you care about is the grudge that you carry

I'm a birdbrain because I'm singing like a canary?


Did you lose your train of thought or mind?

Have you finally found whatever you sought?

How are you fraught?

You ensured that we were naught


You're lost in translation without dub

You regarded me like a sub

Your heart is a hub

I was just a pub on the outskirts


The only part of you that I hurt was your liver

You only served me slivers

How am I indebted to a foreswearing giver?

Before you take shots, stock your quiver


At first you were warm as cider

You opened up wider than I thought possible

But as I inched inside, I became your provider

You loved me like a spider does its prey


You just put on a show

To seduce others below

But before they know it

You've overgrown and overflowed them

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Poem: Sheathing Breathing

David was defeated as a Goliath, but not destroyed His outpouring amour, come as a child, like he was as a boy He was overcome and overjoyed by upward centering Likewise entranced by your foul ent

bottom of page