top of page
  • Writer's pictureJW

Short Story: Pool Party

I had always wanted to go to a wedding and a funeral. My parents never let me, and I didn’t know a lot of people. When I was fourteen I finally got one of my wishes, but it didn’t turn out as expected.


It was a cliché wedding on the beach, but instead of releasing dove, they released sea gulls. It was a huge mix up, and everybody, and the wedding cake got pooped on. After that I decided that I wasn’t going to get married or be tempted by falling in love.


Yep, that was the plan, to be an old maid, but then I met Mathis Demetrius (with a name like that. I have got to figure out his ethnicity). I don’t know the origin of my affections for him, but I’d wish that he’d drop-dead before I say the those three words: I loved you.


He was sleeping on a lounge chair at Michelle’s pool party. I couldn’t help smiling at his half naked body. I was having a mental debate whether to dump something funny on him, or say hello.


He cracked open one eye, along with an impish smile. “How long as you planning on ogling me?” he asked opening his other eye with a wink.


I put my hands on my hips, stuck out my tongue at him. I then grabbed a wet towel, and threw it on his face, “As if,” I stomped away through the crowd.


“Wait,” he laughed, following me. I went through the sliding door, closed it on him, darted to the bathroom, and locked the door. “Aww, you’re shy,” he purred on the other side of the door.


“Go away! Burt, Michelle, or anybody, please get him away from me!” I shouted, pushing the dirty clothes-bin in front of the door, and closing the shower curtain on myself.


“Please open the door,” he pleaded with earnest sadness.


“Curse the loud music!” I surrendered. I moved the bin, opened the door, and quickly grabbed the shower-head as he walked in. I sprayed him, and he slipped and landed on his butt laughing.


“Catharina, why are you trying to break my heart and body?” I tried to go around him only to be ensnared by my own web. He caught me, and switched positions with me. “I love you, Catharina,” He kissed me then, helped me up, and wrapped a towel around me.


I just sat there and blinked stupidly.


"You know “true love’s first kiss” in fairy-tales?" He smiled. "I think I’m in trouble, because that had to be it!”


For a split second, I almost said the infamous three words: I love you. but thankfully I caught myself.


“What are you thinking about?” he asked leading me out the bathroom with his arm on my shoulder.


“An escape route!” I dashed from his side.


“Didn’t we just go through this? You can run from love,” He said power-walking after me.


“That may be true, but I plan on running to the ends of the earth trying!” I said jumping over a coffee table.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page